Computer Related > Learn to code this year Computing Issues
Thread Author: Dave_ Replies: 13

Learn to code this year - Dave_
I stumbled across this over the weekend: codeyear.com/

"Make your New Year's resolution learning to code.
Sign up on Code Year to get a new interactive programming lesson sent to you each week and you'll be building apps and web sites before you know it."

What do you think? The first email is due to be sent on Monday 9th January.
 Learn to code this year - Focusless
>> What do you think? The first email is due to be sent on Monday 9th
>> January.

I'm curious and have signed up. I code for a living, but not 'apps' or web sites - might learn some new skills, if I can be bothered.

You could probably find the same information now if you look hard enough, but I guess regular lessons will probably work better.

Cheers Dave.
Clicked on the "Can't wait start now" link. First lesson completed and I've earned one new badge :)

Do you know if it's going to be just one language (Java?) or a mixture?
Ah - lesson 2 starts off by telling you you're learning JavaScript.
Just went back and finished the 'course', so now I'm going to start "building apps and web sites".

Unfortunately the only app it has taught me how to write is making a number count up or down. Web sites? Hmm...

There are other courses you can take on the website eg. JavaScript Quick Start Guide, but "this course assumes basic knowledge of at least one other programming language. This is more than is covered in 'Getting Started with Programming'".

The most useful is probably 'FizzBuzz', which teaches you how to code a program which prints numbers between 1 and 20, unless the number is divisible by 3 when it prints 'Fizz', or 5 - 'Buzz', or both - 'FizzBuzz'. But that's really only checking you've understood the first lesson.