Motoring Discussion > Advice for long journey south... Miscellaneous
Thread Author: legacylad Replies: 59

Advice for long journey south... - legacylad
I rarely drive long distances in the U.K at one go....but surprisingly I’ve two trips to Crowborough ( Sussex) from Settle in the space of a few months.
Off this Sunday to stay at friends and spend a week walking an area I’ve never visited....daily walks already planned by my friends with ‘ foul weather alternatives’.

Google maps shows two routes, similar time and distance, M1 or M6 initially. Then we’re into unknown territory....I have zero knowledge of the road system south of Birmingham so I’ll be using Apple Car Play to get me to journeys end, although one route takes me close to Duxford, which I may visit on my return and get B & B locally to make a day of it. If it’s worthwhile a visit.

Any advice on the approx best route would me much appreciated....hate long motorway journeys but need an early Sunday start to arrive early afternoon for a planned half day walk .

Roll on September/ October for Crowborough > Newhaven >Dieppe > A few French national parks, Andorra, Malaga, C Blanca and return from Bilbao. That’s more my kind of leisurely motoring.
 Advice for long journey south... - zippy
Heading south, I would take the M40 / M25 as opposed to the M1 / M25 / Dartford Crossing Route.

It's just my preference and I find the M40 and easier drive than the M1 / M11.

If you do decide to cross the bridge / use the tunnel, set up an account with the Dartford Crossing, it saves the hassle of trying to remember to pay it within the required timeframe.

Went to Duxford about 10 years ago, can't remember the details and I took the lad. I recall that it was a full enjoyable day.

Crowborough: Ashdown Forrest, Hever Castle, South Downs / Cuckmere River.
 Advice for long journey south... - Crankcase