Non-motoring > Yorkshire CC and the saga.... Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: No FM2R Replies: 55

Yorkshire CC and the saga.... - No FM2R
I have no knowledge or particular opinion about Yorkshire CC and what did or did not happen, but this caught my eye..

www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/59231560

Akram posted a screenshot of an email he had received on Twitter. It included the email address and phone number of Ms. Neto the head of HR.

She unwisely emailed...

"The fact you redacted your details but left mine in full view shows you to be a coward. I do hope you are proud, you certainly sound very proud."

Most unwise, but it is his response that made me note;

Mr Akram told BBC Sport: "It's left me in tears, distraught and in shock. It makes me think that next time I won't be raising any more complaints. Instead of being sensitive, they have pushed me to the edge.

"in tears, distraught and in shock"?? FFS.

Last edited by: No FM2R on Wed 10 Nov 21 at 13:38
 Yorkshire CC and the saga.... - Bromptonaut
So Mr Akram's gripe is that he and his family were racially abused at a Headingly fixture in 2018.

He complained to the club but says that the promised investigation didn't happen. Neither was it followed up by the Police. He felt let down

Advance 3 years and Yorkshire CC are in the frame. A number of complaints strongly suggest they're not taking racism in their own ranks seriously.

Mr Akram, in a #me2 kind of a way, then publicises what he perceives to have been a brush off from a club official acting in her professional capacity. More evidence of failure to act on racism.

Now maybe, in the current atmosphere for complaints/threats he would have been wiser, even though she was acting in her publicly stated professional role, to redact her name too.

She could have just messaged him on Twitter and asked him to consider retraction.

Instead she goes full on hissy and accuses him publicly of being a coward and proud of it.