Computer Related > HD Video Camera Camcorder etc. Computing Issues
Thread Author: BiggerBadderDave Replies: 10

HD Video Camera Camcorder etc. - BiggerBadderDave
I know nothing about camcorders, so behind it all that I don't even know what to ask for.

It's my little girl, she wants to spend some of her birthday money. Whatever she records, it has to be Mac and iPhone compatible. That is absolutely crucial. She'd wants to edit her recordings.

The capabilities of the camcorder are not important to her but I want it to be as good as possible within her budget.

She sent me four that she likes:

tinyurl.com/263w9dze

tinyurl.com/8e6k8tjs

tinyurl.com/yrxy82nx

tinyurl.com/n724acsb

And ideas, preferences, anything? Again, I've no idea.

I know what she's like though, she's desperate to spend and play with her new toy. I've told her just to hang on for a few hours till the wise men speak.

Much appreciated.

D
 HD Video Camera Camcorder etc. - Zero
Dave, I have lots of experience of video cameras, and editing on Mac and PC and publishing same to youtube.

Now this may sound snobbish, but all of those cameras you listed are the same - different name slightly different ergonomics different right ups, all with claimed capabilities that dont exist or wildly over exaggerated, but all the same innards.

They are rubbish, really bad, more or less a con job, and your little girl will be severely disappointed - quality will be very poor and editing and transfer difficult.

I have no idea how much money you have to spend, my preference would be to go with a name branded camera from a well known name. Canon, Sony, Panasonic JVC.
Look for optical zoom in 10x or higher and 1080p resolution and have a USB port and record to an sd card

like this. www.argos.co.uk/product/1665956?clickSR=slp:term:camcorder:1:18:1

HD Video Camera Camcorder etc. - Biggles
Any digital camera will do the job. Camcorders are passé.
 HD Video Camera Camcorder etc. - Zero