Technical Car/Motor Issues > Citroen C8 MPV - 20 2.2 Power steering pump replacement Miscellaneous
Thread Author: hawkeye Replies: 7

Citroen C8 MPV - 20 2.2 Power steering pump replacement - hawkeye
The power steering pump is yowling, producing varying intensity of noise as the steering is turned. I can feel vibration through the wheel as I steer. Despite being replaced a couple of years ago, the fluid is jet black and muddy and turbulent when the cap is removed with the engine running. I sense that the device is eating itself and needs replacing sharpish.

I've never done a power steering pump before. Any advice, tips or comments (disparaging or otherwise most welcome.

I propose syphoning the fluid out with my vacuum drainer, taking the pressure off the drive belt and undoing the bits and bobs (this is the technical secion, right?) and putting on a recon unit. Will the rack self-bleed? It doesn't look too challenging, or are these the famous last words of some hopelessly naïve numpty?
 Citroen C8 MPV - 20 2.2 Power steering pump replacement - VxFan
>> Will the rack self-bleed?

From what I've seen on Wheeler Dealers and the like, you just turn the steering lock to lock a few times.
 Citroen C8 MPV - 20 2.2 Power steering pump replacement - carmalade
Fluid jet black and muddy means the whole pas system will be contaminated.I would de-couple as much pipework as possible.including the oil cooler if fitted,and force flush with an air line .System will self bleed lock to lock ,as suggested above.The only observation about WD is that old China never struggles to undo anything.!!
 Citroen C8 MPV - 20 2.2 Power steering pump replacement - hawkeye