Computer Related > Mobile Phone Caller ID - Outgoing Call Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Bromptonaut Replies: 11

Mobile Phone Caller ID - Outgoing Call - Bromptonaut
One for our techies.

As is common knowledge here I am currently a professional Welfare Rights Adviser. Normally, I use a work mobile for professional calls but for some reason the phone/service I was provided with will not support 3 way calling. So if I need to do a 3 way call with a client and DWP I turn off caller ID and use my own phone. Carrier is Lyca who piggy back on EE.

Today I tried to call Universal Credit on their public facing number 0800 328 5644.

When it connects it shows on my phone as 'Our Newham Money', a debt/money etc service sponsored by LB Newham.

So question is how does it work and who provides the links in that circumstance?
 Mobile Phone Caller ID - Outgoing Call - VxFan
Presumably you haven't got the number stored in the phone's address book assigned with that name?

Other than that, I can't see how Our Newham Money are pinging back their name to your mobile.
Never had any involvement with Our Newham Money. The UC number is stored in my phone but not assigned a name - it's used so often I don't need reminding.

Calls being labelled with a name, incoming or outgoing, is now quite common on mobiles. Not the first time I've been involved with one that's wrong. I was previously on a CA project for Anglian Water. Our numbers cane up on some phones as Thames Water, although we were working on behalf of Anglian there are parts of AW's area where they do the supply and Thames waste of vice versa.
 Mobile Phone Caller ID - Outgoing Call - Zero
The UC service has probably outsourced a proportion of the calls to a third party call centre. Newham because of your mobile entry into the network.
 Mobile Phone Caller ID - Outgoing Call - tyrednemotional
^this.

If you check the Google reviews for Our Newham Money, it confirms such an arrangement.