Computer Related > New Computer Spec - Any Comments Computing Issues
Thread Author: helicopter Replies: 9

New Computer Spec - Any Comments - helicopter
I have very little computer knowledge but have a very good friend , now retired who builds them and as my old home computer which he built is now an antique in computer terms he has built me a new one to last me for the next few years, specification below from his quote.

>The new Intel IVYBRIDGE quad core i5 Processor
>>>Running at 22 NM 3.2 GHZ 6 MB
> cache LGA 1155
>>
>>Motherboard
>>
>>Asus P8 H61-MX USB 3 Anti Surge GPU
> Boost
>> UEFI Crash free BIOS
>>
>>Memory
>>
>>Kingston 8 Gigabyte DDR3
> Memory
>>
>>Graphics
>>
>>NVIDIA GeForce 210 Card
>>
>>500 gig Hard Drive
>>
>
>>Optiarc DVD RW AD-7201S ATA Device
>>
>>High definition Audio
>>
>
>>Setup with Windows 7, Office suite, Writing tools , Transfer
> Documents
>>and delivered to home.

He has allowed in his price for two hours at my home to set it all up but I know if it takes longer he will not charge extra and he is always available for advice if I do get problems.

I have already said go ahead and he has built it and is installing on Friday.

Out of interest ,what does the team think of the spec and what sort of price it would be if I bought that sort of spec from a retail outlet?

New Computer Spec - Any Comments - rtj70
You're probably getting a better system than you'd get at retail because things like the motherboard and memory might be better quality than an OEM built one.

When it comes to the hardware spec. Three things that stand out though:

- This is using an Ivybridge CPU from Intel which uses the older (just replaced) LGA1155 socket. The latest CPU's are Haswell. They will cost more (not much) and I'd go for one of those

- The graphics card is very low spec - I'd get something better. In fact the GPU in the latest Haswell CPU's might be good enough for you if you're not into gaming etc. The GTS 210 is about £15.