Non-motoring > Looking to buy first house - any tips? Buying / Selling
Thread Author: nice but dim Replies: 175

Looking to buy first house - any tips? - nice but dim
Reading Rattle's thread on being 'screwed', I thought I'd come on here and ask for your experiences in buying a first house. I'm the same age as Rattle and although not feeling 'screwed' I do think that time is ticking.
I'm in the process of calling the estate agent for a viewing on a nice house in a nearby area which is up for the price of £70,000. Now for that price it does need some modernisation (according to photos) which at first glance would cost around £3,000 but the house is around 30% lower priced than the rest of the street. My parents have said that I can live at theirs board free while the work is done which was very kind. I have managed to save the 10% deposit and a further £2,000 for solicitors and survey fees, a kind relative has also given me £500 to help me along. I work as an IT Telecoms engineer and recieve a accepatable wage and have been there 10 years so feel confident in going for this. I have lived away from home before, I rented for two years and moved back to parents a year ago to save so can afford the potential mortgage as it would be £100 per month less than the rent that I was paying. I dont have any loans or credit cards and my car is paid for fully.

All things considered espically the work needed and given the price of the house, it sounds a good idea but I'm not getting to excited until I have a viewing and taken an 'expert' round with me.

Any experiences and ideas welcome, thank you for reading.
 Looking to buy first house - any tips? - Zero
Always buy the cheapest house on the street. You can improve to the street level and make money on resale.

>> Always buy the cheapest house on the street. You can improve to the street level
>> and make money on resale.
>>
>>
>>