Non-motoring > Italian Lakes. Where to stay Miscellaneous
Thread Author: legacylad Replies: 8

Italian Lakes. Where to stay - legacylad
My dear old Mum is getting on a bit, and assumed that foreign holidays were out of the question.
However, I had a brainwave of taking her to Italy for a week next Spring, where she has enjoyed previous holidays when younger.
Can anyone recommend a lake/town area which is not too commercial. I have no experience of this part of the world, and expect to take her on the odd lake cruise, and leave her sitting in some nice hotel gardens whilst I pop up a nearby hill!!
Thanks in advance
 Italian Lakes. Where to stay - Bagpuss
Lake Garda is a great part of the world for a holiday. You're spoilt for choice there really, the enormous 19th century Grand Hotel in Gardone Riviera on the west coast basks in slowly crumbling glory which might appeal to your Mum. Alternatively the peninsula of Sirmione is a bit livelier but in an Italian laid back sort of way. Some great driving roads around the lake by the way.
 Italian Lakes. Where to stay - Bellboy
leave it as late spring as you can because it can be cold and windy there but its all nice
remember the further north then the longer travel times to places like verona
 Italian Lakes. Where to stay - FocalPoint
We did Lakes Maggiore, Lugano and Como a few years ago. They are all absolutely lovely.

If it's boat trips you're after, I would recommend Lake Maggiore, staying at in or near Baveno and taking a boat from there to Isola Bella (a small island in the lake), which is well worth a visit; it has a wonderful palazzo and gardens next to a little village.

Alternatively, there is the slightly more touristy but still very attractive Lake Como. Here a good place to stay is Menaggio, from where you can go across the lake by boat to the villages of Varenna and Bellagio. Actually, I quite liked Como itself, but it is a large, busy, bustling place which may not be to everyone's liking.