Non-motoring > Tumble dryers Miscellaneous
Thread Author: bathtub tom Replies: 41

Tumble dryers - bathtub tom
SWMBO wouldn't let me mend the old one again (it was 25 years old) so we bought a condenser dryer. It's badged Candy, but made by Hoover.
I'm surprised at how much heat it throws out and how warm the condensed water is. I leave the utility room door open when it's running to help warm the rest of the house.
Is this normal, as I've no previous experience of such equipment?
 Tumble dryers - Bromptonaut
We've had a Bosch heat pump condenser drier for the last 5 years. It chucks out a bit of heat but a lot less than its conventional condenser predecessor. The condensate gets pumped out and down the waste pipe so no idea of the temperature.

Had a Eureka moment around it today. During the cold spell the utility in which it is housed and the adjoining kitchen have been ridiculously cold. I'd concluded the back door's insulation was breaking down and was bracing myself to spend £££ on a replacement.

This morning I was doing a bit of a clean up and pulled the dryer out vacuum behind. Discovered that the outlet the builder provided for a vented tumble dryer was completely open to the outside!! Now filled it with shredded newspaper and capped it with a plastic bag.

We'd definitely filled it before (we've been here 25 years) but neither can recall when or why we'd opened it again. We never had a vented dryer and anyway the cretins who built the place installed it half way along the depth of the space for the dryer - you'd never have actually been able to attach a dryer.
 Tumble dryers - sooty123
I think you can buy blanking plates for them.
 Tumble dryers - sooty123
Yes, in my experience the water can get pretty warm from that type of dryer.
 Tumble dryers - Zero

>> Is this normal, as I've no previous experience of such equipment?

Yes the air that comes out is hot, and yes the condensate drained is quite warm