Non-motoring > Seek sound (bar) advice Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Ambo Replies: 18

Seek sound (bar) advice - Ambo
I have a new TV, Panasonic 40DX700B. The sound is fair but I would like to add a sound bar. I have no experience of these devices, in fact I have never even heard one in action. Can posters recommend a suitable model please?

The main points are: it should be good on music, as I view/listen to a lot of classical output; it should have an HDMI connection, as I read that this is superior to optical, something that rules out the otherwise well-reviewed Cambridge Audio TV5 Ver2; it should cost around £250 and maybe (I am not clear) it should have a USB connection.
 Seek sound (bar) advice - Crankcase
I don't want to immediately say "you don't want to do that", but have you considered an AV amp and speakers? Obviously it doesn't look so neat, but I'll wager you'd get a lot more bang for your buck.

All our kit goes through a Yamaha amp and some tiny Bose speakers and a subwoofer tucked away, and visitors comment how good the tv sounds.
 Seek sound (bar) advice - R.P.
We bought a BOSE bar to go with our Samsung - have no experience of anything else - it works just fine. Ilike the sound. Couldn't be doing with an AV amp etc as an added box. The HiFi's future is in debate as well. We're moving down-sizing - some tough decisions ahead.
 Seek sound (bar) advice - Stuartli
Ironic I think that my 42in Panasonic has first class audio qualities - but only if you are standing behind it as the various speakers face downwards and to the rear.....:-(

As the TV is housed on a glass topped TV/audio table in an alcove, obviously the sound is very much compromised, so I bought a set of Charlie Rich 2.1 speakers, which perform their duties very well, but are no longer available as far as I'm aware.

Might be worth reading up on some sound bar reviews first (see:)

www.trustedreviews.com/best-soundbars_round-up