Non-motoring > Replacing oven part Miscellaneous
Thread Author: legacylad Replies: 12

Replacing oven part - legacylad
The heating element on my fan oven ( Britannia 100cm dual fuel twin) went kaput several months ago and I bought a cheapo £10 replacement off EBay. According to the invoice description it should be the correct part, but whenever I turn it on the fuse trips.
As I have been using the other oven for the past 18 months ( I don't cook much!) should I spend £50 on a 'proper' part, although Britannia want £93.40.
Britannia supplied me with a product code, and googling that reference throws up cheaper prices from other suppliers.
Could there be an underlying reason why the fuse trips on the new replacement part, or is it probably not fit for purpose and thrown away?
Thanks for any advice
 Replacing oven part - Pat
From a practical female point of view:)

It would suggest to me that there was another original fault that caused the heating element to go in the first place.

Pat
 Replacing oven part - Cliff Pope

>>
>> It would suggest to me that there was another original fault that caused the heating
>> element to go in the first place.

I'd try connecting the element directly to a simple supply through an ordinary fused plug and see whether it works on its own. If it does, the fault is elsewhere. If it doesn't, send it back.
 Replacing oven part - CGNorwich
DIY electrical repairs if you don't know what you are doing are not the best idea.

Call a qualified repairer.
 Replacing oven part - Old Navy
When one of our ovens died (on Christmas morning of course) I got a replacement from a local domestic appliance spares and repair shop when it opened. I am sure the guy was reaching for the correct spare as I walked across the shop. Much less hassle than the interwebby thing when you can take the duff element in a ask for "one of these please". Most appliances are basic Meccano, to someone who remembers what real Meccano was.