Non-motoring > Serious rail crash in Germany Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Manatee Replies: 45

Serious rail crash in Germany - Manatee
Head on, two trains on a single track.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-35530538

9 dead so far - sounds as if it could have been worse.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - Dutchie
Terrible accident in the early morning.What has gone wrong signal failure or what.I'm no train expert.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - Armel Coussine
More likely a driver failing to register a signal. No system likes to admit anything like that. It's a total disaster for the person responsible (not to mention the dozen or so dead and many injured).

Our own railway system is busier than Germany's: same population more or less, but half the mileage. Amazing it's never happened here (although we have had a couple of booboos, including the one in the Grove just behind our old gaff).

Speed kills, reluctant though I am to admit it. I won't put a smiley, although it's tempting. Multiple deaths and maimings are strangely sobering even to a hooligan like me.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - Bromptonaut
>> Amazing it's never happened here

We've had head-on crashes on single track too AC

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cowden_rail_crash

My Mother remembers one on Scarborough's miniature railway in the thirties.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - Zero
Its likely to be driver error or Signal failure. Both trains were at some speed, (line speed there is 110 kph) damage suggest both not at full speed. Rumour mill says both were equipped with the german version of ATP (Automatic Train Protection (auto brakes at red)) and Automatic Warning System (AWS) both have OTMR (on train monitoring & recording - black boxes) so it will soon be known.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - zippy
Dreadful, you just don't expect it when getting on a train!

Just hope that they find out what happened and fix it so it doesn't happen again.
 Serious rail crash in Germany - Cliff Pope