Non-motoring > Wiring an outside lamp Miscellaneous
Thread Author: CGNorwich Replies: 20

Wiring an outside lamp - CGNorwich
Nex project is to put up an external PIR controlled light on the garage wall.

I'm no electrician but after consulting various websites here I what I propose to do. The easiest place to access power is from a mains cable running from the mini consumer unit in the garage to a double socket. There is a bit of slack in this cable so I propose cutting into it and adding a junction box. I then will run a 2.5 mm cable from the junction box to a switched fused connection unit. I will. Then run a 1.5 mm cable from the FCU to the outdoor lamp via a hole I have drilled in the wall.

Any electricians out there confirm this is all ok and the way to go.

Wiring an outside lamp - Clk Sec
>>Any electricians out there

www.niceic.com/Page/SearchContractors
 Wiring an outside lamp - Fursty Ferret
I see absolutely no reason at all why this shouldn't work, and in fact I did something similar in my loft for the lighting.

Provided you put an appropriate fuse in the connection unit when you step down the cable size it's perfectly safe - 1.5mm cable is good for 15A anyway, but common sense dictates a 3A fuse or similar. I assume you're using an LED flood?
 Wiring an outside lamp - Zero
>> I see absolutely no reason at all why this shouldn't work, and in fact I
>> did something similar in my loft for the lighting.

No reason at all, I have employed very similar methods for a few external PIR floods

>> I assume you're using an LED flood?

No No NO, this is the land of WATT. It needs to be hot, it needs to be coily it needs to burn a bright yellow, it needs to burn out.

Nothing else will do.
Don't think it really matters provided you've set the PIR to a hair trigger and carefully angled it at the bedrooms of all your neighbouring properties.
>> Don't think it really matters provided you've set the PIR to a hair trigger and