Non-motoring > Help, I'm a nervous wreck. Miscellaneous
Thread Author: BiggerBadderDave Replies: 13

Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - BiggerBadderDave
In a nutshell - an English native speaker who holds evening classes has been taken ill. There are 4 Polish children, two girls, two boy, twelve years old. She asked me to cover for her for one hour this evening and I agreed. No teacher qualifications or anything like that, I just need to encourage conversation between them. I have no idea what the hell I'm going to do.

I'm leaving in 90 mins. Interesting & humorous topics might help.

Over to you guys.
 Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - Armel Coussine
You'll manage all right BBD, you're a kindly soul. I'm a hopeless teacher myself but you may find it easiest to get them to talk about what they are interested in. Ask what differences there are between them, sporting, intellectual, frivolous, artistic, etc. Explain from your own and your family's experience the advantages of bilinguality...

I seem to remember an unknown class of nippers can be very forbiddingly shtum, and one has to take care not to rabbit too much oneself.
 Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - Pat
Good icebreaker for kids is always favourites.

Food, group, day out, sport etc, then take it from there Dave, you'll be fine;)

Pat
 Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - WillDeBeest
Some sort of game is often a good start. Maybe a map of Europe and some pictures of objects that you could ask them to associate with the right country. People in other countries are always interested in the differences between their own way of life and yours, so you could base something on that.
Then, to finish, a nice round of Pin The Tail On Godfrey Bloom. Good luck.
}:---)
 Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - Runfer D'Hills
DVD.

Sorted
 Help, I'm a nervous wreck. - FocalPoint
When you speak to the kids, unless their English is good, speak a bit on the slow side, but do not speak to them as if they were deaf. Use shortish, uncomplicated sentences.