Non-motoring > SAGA share flotation Miscellaneous
Thread Author: bathtub tom Replies: 12

SAGA share flotation - bathtub tom
I've had a bit of a windfall and wondered about having a punt. Interest rates for any sort of savings seem to be on the floor.

The last time I had a dabble in the stock market was when Lloyds bank offered shares, shows my financial acumen. May as well as put my money under the mattress.

I'm aware you shouldn't put anything into the stock market you can't afford to lose.

Any thoughts and opinions?

SAGA share flotation - smokie
Yeah, don't put anything into the stock market you can't afford to lose!! :-)

I've had their letters too and thought about it, not sure it will be the same as a public utility sell off though, but I've no idea why I feel that. I do think RM was set artificially by HMG and friends and ended up too low, and that is less likely to happen with a "private" company.

I'm no expert btw...
 SAGA share flotation - zippy
Read somewhere recently that they are trying to get a listing on the stock exchange as a general business rather than an insurance business because the insurance market is depressed at the moment. I understand that over 50% of their revenue comes from insurance products.
 SAGA share flotation - Manatee
I can't tell you whether it's worth doing but I'm not.

It's a good time for a float, top of the market. Not to say it won't go higher, but that is whey they are selling now.

I also have a feeling Saga's best days might be behind it. I insured a car with them a couple of years ago but the renewal was a big hike - they rely on the brand, the friend of the over 50s image, but some think they are taking it too far and the punters are beginning to wise up.

Of course I don't always get these things right. I bought two lots of Royal Mail and flogged them for a profit before they went up another 20%.