Non-motoring > How to fix a kettle leak Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Dulwich Estate Replies: 31

How to fix a kettle leak - Dulwich Estate
We have a shiny stainless steel kettle which has developed a leak at the point the spout is welded to the kettle body. If it wasn't a kettle I'd clean up the area on the inside and dob in a spot of araldite - job done.

But araldite or any epoxy adhesive doesn't like hot temperatures. Maybe a dab of solder ? But what about contamination of the water ? I've only got a roll of 100 year old (well, pretty old anyway) solder in the house and don't know if I can use it with drinking water. Would it stick anyway ? If I was a dentist I'd think about amalgam - I'm not so I won't.

£20 - £30 for a new kettle isn't a tragedy, but a free fix would be nicer.

What does the panel think ?
 How to fix a kettle leak - Alanovich

>> What does the panel think ?
>>

You're either stony or tight.

Buy a new one.
 How to fix a kettle leak - Bromptonaut
Old solder may contain lead, most modern stuff does not though there may be other toxic items in the alloy or flux. Very little contact with water though if only a pinhole. Older houses still have lead pipes too. Your call on the risk.

Practically, you might struggle to get enough localised heating bearing in mind there's a whole kettle to act as a heat sink.
 How to fix a kettle leak - VxFan
>> What does the panel think ?

High temperature silicone rubber.
 How to fix a kettle leak - madf
JB Weld - good to 300C..
 How to fix a kettle leak - Manatee
1. Write to the manufacturer, tell them you don't mind mending it even though it is clearly a defect, and ask them to confirm that solder will not be a problem (thinking mailnly about your young children).

2. Await arrival of new kettle, or voucher towards a new one.

Meanwhile, buy a Tesco Value kettle for £5 - it's cordless, even though it doesn't say so. Our stopgap one is still going about 5 years on...