Non-motoring > Denial - fascinating reading Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Statistical Outlier Replies: 12

Denial - fascinating reading - Statistical Outlier
As a scientist I found this fascinating reading. Thought that many on here might disagree but find it stimulating.

tinyurl.com/35mje27

Links to article from New Scientist about Denial.
 Denial - fascinating reading - Tooslow
It's the usual conspiracy theory stuff. A lot of people get over excited about the control exerted by secret organisations while overlooking the fact that much simpler explanations are available and therefore more likely. Usually "cock up". I notice it said thousands died of swine flu. Really?

One day the human race will be seriously hit by a pandemic, but swine flu, bird flu and all the rest have all turned out to be serious but not on that sort of scale. So when it does happen we'll all either be blase or conspiracy theorists, not take our medicicne and die. That should get house prices down then.

JH
 Denial - fascinating reading - tyro
Yes, an interesting article.

The sentence that got me was this: "The first thing to note is that denial finds its most fertile ground in areas where the science must be taken on trust. "

By "trust", the writer basically means "faith", and by "science", she means "current scientific orthodoxy".

Using the word "denialist" to describe someone who is sceptical about what the experts are saying about a particular topic is loaded. It's basically saying "These people are 'in denial'".

Even the headline is odd: "Why sensible people reject the truth." I assumed that the use of the words "the truth" was tongue in cheek before I read the article. I read it and discovered that it wasn't.