Non-motoring > Moving house - survey? Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Focusless Replies: 18

Moving house - survey? - Focusless
We're looking to purchase a house built we think in 1929, although that's only the date on the deeds - might just apply to the land, and the house could have been built later? Definitely around that time though.

Anyway FiL says that some houses at that time were built 'on the cheap', so has advised us to go for a full structural survey. However SWMBO isn't sure whether it's worth it (cost ~£1k) - is suggesting just getting a valuation (£300) then experts to follow anything up, and perhaps a damp expert to have a look either way.

Any opinions? FWIW property is a 3 bed detached, seems to be in good nick on the surface.
 Moving house - survey? - Boxsterboy
As a chartered surveyor, I would recommend an RICS Homebuyer Report. Should be about £500-650 + VAT, depending on where you are in the country. This will tell you all you need, assuming there have been no major alterations and you are not planning any, and will include a valuation.
 Moving house - survey? - Netsur
House is now over 80 years old. If not re-roofed then roof is coming to the end of its life.

Strongly suggest full building survey which should not cost £1K but more like £600 for a house of this size. If you are near Manchester I can recommend a surveyor (not me!).
BB - I don't like the HBR. Too wishy washy for me and the value is a waste of time as the BS will get one done as well.
 Moving house - survey? - Boxsterboy
>> BB - I don't like the HBR. Too wishy washy for me and the value
>> is a waste of time as the BS will get one done as well.
>>

Wishy washy? Well, it depends who is doing it. I think the (new) HBR format is more customer-friendly, and more readable/understandable than many Building Survey reports I see. Horses for courses.
 Moving house - survey? - rtj70