Non-motoring > Fitted new Cylinder Lock. Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Dutchie Replies: 10

Fitted new Cylinder Lock. - Dutchie
Haven't been happy with our lock in the patio door for a while.It is one of these cylinder locks what stuck out the door at least halve a inch.

I'm no expert with locks and thinking the whole lot needed replacing and left it.Rang a few locksmiths,one quoted 80 pounds and a other 120 pounds to replace the barrel.

I thought have a look on you tube you never know,
how to replace the barrel and put a new one in the no bump no pick and brake type of barrel.

Got the explation how to do it took me less than a minute to take the old barrel out.New one cost 37 pounds and about 5 minutes to replace it.I had to take the door handles off and line the lock up .You learn something every day.
 Fitted new Cylinder Lock. - bathtub tom
I presume it's one of these euro lock jobbies.

I had to do one and found it remarkably easy through the interweb thingmy.
 Fitted new Cylinder Lock. - Robin O'Reliant
A few years back I did consider going on a locksmiths training course. They only last about a week and when you've done you've got a licence to print money. They must make a small fortune from distress call outs.
 Fitted new Cylinder Lock. - Armel Coussine
Some time ago translated a vulgar and garish but very good fun French novel set during the Paris Commune (1871). I recommend it - sex, violence and lots of creative and profane polemic. I haven't checked but it may be remaindered on Amazon. I don't think it sold well although it got the odd good review (the best was in the TLS). The Voice of the People (in English - poor title I thought), Jean Vautrin, (Orion/Weidenfeld & Nicolson) 2002 I think. It's good on the politics of the Commune at a moment in Fr. history not for the faint-hearted.