Non-motoring > The Higgs Boson. Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Dutchie Replies: 23

The Higgs Boson. - Dutchie
I'm no scientist left school at 16,can anybody on this forum explain what all this means?

Will our future be different new inventions maybe a different way of living so many questions.
 The Higgs Boson. - John H
>> I'm no scientist left school at 16,can anybody on this forum explain what all this
>> means?
>>

blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/tomchiversscience/100169196/can-you-explain-the-higgs-boson-in-140-characters-or-fewer/

I've read the article still difficult to understand.We are all matter made of atoms,we are not machines or are we?
 The Higgs Boson. - Zero
these are the same people who said they had found something faster than the speed of light, then found they hadn't.
Could be Zero Einstein said he didn't understand the universe he was no mug.
 The Higgs Boson. - Focusless
>> these are the same people who said they had found something faster than the speed
>> of light

Couple of other teams agreeing though this time (I think).
 The Higgs Boson. - L'escargot
>> these are the same people who said they had found something faster than the speed
>> of light, then found they hadn't.
>>

Everyone makes mistakes, but credit where credit's due ~ they saw the light eventually.
Last edited by: L'escargot on Fri 6 Jul 12 at 07:31
 The Higgs Boson. - John H
>> these are the same people .
>>

Not so. It was the Italian OPERA team.

trenchesofdiscovery.blogspot.co.uk/2012/03/at-neutrino-opera-fat-lady-is-warming.html

The Higgs Boson. - Manatee
I'm skirting round that one. But I wouldn't hold my breath.

Video - youtu.be/ZzQpeqE_wLg

Nice story here about the Prof. Higgs who predicted it

goo.gl/cAon1

And Matt's take -

www.telegraph.co.uk/news/matt/?cartoon=9377466&cc=9367668
 The Higgs Boson. - Roger.
I thought Higgs, Bosun. had just been made redundant in the latest round of defence cuts?
 The Higgs Boson. - Manatee