Non-motoring > ISA rules question Legal Questions
Thread Author: L'escargot Replies: 21

ISA rules question - L'escargot
I've used my ISA allowance for this year. I have two ISAs, each with a different company. One of the ISAs pays a lower rate of interest than I would like.

Am I allowed to transfer the low-rate ISA into a higher-rate ISA with the same company?
 ISA rules question - Lygonos
Yes, presuming that the company allows it.

Some high rate cash ISAs are for "new money" only rather than transfers - the rate is a bribe for you business.

The money must be transferred, not withdrawn and re-deposited as this loses the tax-free status.
 ISA rules question - Clk Sec
As far as I know you should be able to transfer into a non fixed-rate ISA, but you may find that there is a limited time scale for transferring into an existing fixed-rate one.

I'm no expert, though.
 ISA rules question - Meldrew
Minefield! I checked my bank's ISAs. One allowed transfers in at any time, with the other the transfer had to be applied for within 14 days of opening. Check the small print closely!
 ISA rules question - L'escargot
I've just been informed on the telephone that I can't transfer my low-rate ISA into one of that company's higher rate ISAs because I've used up my allowance for this year. I can transfer it next year but this will use up (some of) next year's allowance. If I did this it would effectively mean that next year I couldn't invest new money into an ISA, and I don't want that to happen. At the moment I can't see how I can escape from this situation. I want to be able to get a higher rate of interest than the low-rate ISA is currently paying without jeopardising my next year's ISA allowance. Any suggestions?
 ISA rules question - RichardW
Find another ISA supplier that understands the rules?
 ISA rules question - rtj70
>> Find another ISA supplier that understands the rules?

He can't this year - he's already opened an ISA.