Motoring Discussion > Pedalling in search of cheaper insurance? Tax / Insurance / Warranties
Thread Author: hawkeye Replies: 7

Pedalling in search of cheaper insurance? - hawkeye
www.regit.cars/car-news/bold-road-safety-action-plan-for-drivers-cyclists-pedestrians_71653

Will it work? Do cyclists make safer drivers? I cycle with my son sometimes and he has become a lot more savvy since becoming a cycling commuter in June (2018).

As an ex-cycling instructor, I passed Bikeability level 3 as part of instructor training but I can't find my certificate.
 Pedalling in search of cheaper insurance? - Fullchat
Some of the traits of cyclists I would not like to see transferred to 4 wheels :))

However being a two wheeled road user powered/unpowered makes you much more aware of your vulnerability and heights your awareness of other road users and road conditions. The idea has some merit. Wish I'd undertaken Cycling Proficiency when I was at school.

However riding a motorcycle also gives you extra skills/awareness so perhaps they should also consider this.
 Pedalling in search of cheaper insurance? - VxFan
>> However riding a motorcycle also gives you extra skills/awareness so perhaps they should also consider this.

Within a few mins of my first ever driving lesson, my instructor asked if I rode a motorbike because he noticed I was paying more attention at junctions, etc. Even if I had the right of way, I still looked left and right and read the road ahead.
He said that most of his pupils that rode motorbikes had a sixth sense about them and made better drivers. Self preservation skills, I think he made reference to.
 Pedalling in search of cheaper insurance? - Runfer D'Hills