Motoring Discussion > Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio
Thread Author: nice but dim Replies: 18

Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio - nice but dim
Not for me, a colleagues new company car. Because I work in IT, I'm assumed to be an expert in in car entertainment. I've not looked at it yet but I thought I would get armed with ideas if he asks again.

Its a VRS if that helps whatever radio it has I don't have a scooby.

Hasn't Avant got one of those?
 Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio - ....
Have a look at BriSkoda or such like. Manufacturers have a list of what phones they support.
I'm assuming you mean a bluetooth connection to the car ?
 Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio - WillDeBeest
I gave my phone to the BMW salesman I bought my car from and he connected it for me. Hasn't your colleague got a dealer to ask?
But would you give your phone to a VAG salesman, you don't know what software he'll load when you're not looking ;-)
>> Hasn't your colleague got a dealer to ask?
>>

Good point
 Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio - Stuartli
My best mate has an 18 month-old Skoda Octavia and it connects to an HTC Wildfire S just fine.
>> My best mate has an 18 month-old Skoda Octavia and it connects to an HTC
>> Wildfire S just fine.
>>
That way around is fine, the problems come when your phone is using tech newer than where the car manufacturer is. Then you have to wait for the manufacturer to catch up. Sometimes they won't because they go off with a different technology which leaves you high and dry.
 Skoda Octavia II - Trouble connecting Samsung S5 to radio - No FM2R
Its probably Bluetooth and its normally idiot disease - Discovery not enabled, Bluetooth not switched on etc. etc.

If you like the colleague, go have a fiddle. The chances are an IT approach is exactly what is required.

If you don't like them or can't be a***d, send him to the dealer.