Motoring Discussion > The vanishing minutes Miscellaneous
Thread Author: hawkeye Replies: 5

The vanishing minutes - hawkeye
As a peripatetic swimming teacher I jumped at the chance of some Saturday work in Ripon an hour after I would finish in Richmond. Actually the hour would be more like 50 minutes because I would have to prise myself out of my motorcycle leathers into a shrinking wetsuit and have a look at the registers before greeting my pupils. Erm, the 50 minutes would be 45 minutes or a bit less; I was facing 4 hours in the water without a break so I would need some calories and fluid to preserve the tension in the wetsuit and stop me becoming crabby.

As it turned out I finished late in Richmond because one of the pool clocks was wrong so 10 minutes of my precious 45 minutes had evaporated before I had changed, climbed aboard my motorcycle and started the 27 mile journey, much of which was southbound on the A1 in the roadworks and 50mph limit.

Like a common criminal I didn't take any notice of the 50 limit, hoping that the SPECS cameras only look for a forward-facing numberplate, and nailed it South until I met a gaggle of cars doing 48mph next to a truck. The digital minutes clicked by silently but relentlessly. A biker with more balls than me might have ridden up the white line or used the hard shoulder but I didn't. Instead, as I settled into a legal bimble, it occurred to me that maybe one of the 3 drivers next to the truck might just be someone who dislikes being stuck behind a pair of overtaking trucks as the drivers decide whose speed limiter is marginally faster.