Motoring Discussion > Motorbikes and 1st gear Miscellaneous
Thread Author: Crankcase Replies: 29

Motorbikes and 1st gear - Crankcase
I don't know much (ok, nothing) about motorbikes, but is it really so easy to select the wrong gear at the wrong speed, with in this case tragic consequences?

As a layman I'd have thought there'd be some kind of mechanism to prevent it. I know you could do it in a car but the results are less likely to kill you I'd have thought.

Or do big expensive bikes have a preventer and cheap ones that teenagers ride don't?

www.cambridge-news.co.uk/Home/Gear-switch-error-led-to-fatal-crash-for-motorcyclist-04042012.htm
 Motorbikes and 1st gear - DP
Motorbikes have sequential gearboxes, operated by a foot lever (usually left hand side), and you move this foot lever up or down to select the next gear in sequence. You cannot "skip" gears, so if you want to go from 4th to 1st, for example, you must go through 3rd and 2nd to get there. Each change involves moving the lever, and then allowing it to return to its rest position, so the example above would require three distinct movements of the foot.

The sequence on most bikes, starting from the "bottom", and requiring an upwards movement on the gear lever is 1, N, 2, 3, 4, 5, (6 etc)

Last edited by: DP on Wed 4 Apr 12 at 09:24
 Motorbikes and 1st gear - Focusless
>> Motorbikes have sequential gearboxes...

So how could he have put his bike in the wrong gear? From DP's clear explanation it doesn't even look as if he could have gone from 2nd into 1st instead of 3rd. What could have caused the rear wheel to lock?
 Motorbikes and 1st gear - DP
Sorry, you could go from 2nd to 1st. Neutral is the only exception to the rule in that you go "through" it between 1st and 2nd, or 2nd and 1st. The lever will move in two distinct "notches", the first being neutral, and the second being the next gear. One foot movement in any of the other gears will only ever select the next gear in either direction.